A ‘COMING-OF-AGE’ FLICK WITH A DIFFERENCE…

Watched an excellent movie last night! Although I’d heard a lot about the film adaptation of Lynn Barber’s novel ‘An Education’ I didn’t think it would be my sort of film so I didn’t go to see it because I didn’t think I’d like it. Whilst doing some pre-Christmas shopping a few weeks ago, I bought the DVD on the spur of the moment as it was in one of those 2 for the price of 1 offers and the other one was ‘The Wolfman’, which I bought for my cousin. Ha! I know…what a skinflint your cousin Becky is, eh?

Well, I watched it last night just to see what all the fuss was about (most successful British film of 2010 etc.) and I spent 1 hour, 35 minutes thoroughly mesmerised! I won’t say anything about the plot here as I wouldn’t want to spoil it for anyonewho hasn’t seen it or read the book already, but it’s the sort of film that draws you in – even if you didn’t go into watching it particularly enthusiastically in the first place.

Suffice to say, Carey Mulligan is absolutely brilliant in the main character role of Jenny and I also particularly enjoyed Alfred Molina’s performance as her Dad, too. In fact, the whole cast, the whole period detail of suburban London in the early 1960s was spot on, too. Even if I am too young to have lived then – I would guess pretty much that, that’s what things were like.

The film works on so many different levels, too. Although I’ve never read Lynn Barber’s book, if Nick Hornby’s screenplay adaptation of it is anything to go by, it must be excellent. I really like the way that it encapsulates the position of women in early ’60s Britain through the experiences of its central character, Jenny – who seems a bit of an anachronism; startlingly intelligent before her years in some respects but extremely naive in others – and also by early 21st century standards. We, as in the majority of the viewing audience, automatically gasp in horror at the mistakes that her and her family are making right from the start – as we are wiser to these things – or at least, more aware of them – now and we can see where things are likely to go.

Anyway, suffice to say that the movie can be frightening, funny, heartwarming, heartbreaking and shocking, kewl and stylish all at the same time.

Recommended!

And have a Happy New Year, folks x

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

